Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19
VDC (or AWD) broken?

Thread: VDC (or AWD) broken?

Noobinator

Default VDC (or AWD) broken?

Hi, not really a Sub newbie (had an '01 Forester until a year ago - now have an '08 Impr Outback Sprt) but I am new to the online forums - and after a few searches, couldn't find any info on this specific issue or the best place to post, so here I am.

I recently moved from the US to the Great White North and my car is performing horribly in snowy/slippery conditions. Before the move, I drove it to the mountains once through a blizzard and the VDC light came on a few times when things were super slippery but for the most part I just had to drive VERY slow to maintain control (I have many years of previous winter driving experience). Most cars were passing me. And more recently, it seems VDC's only purpose is to alert me to the fact that the wheels are sliding around (ie. it doesn't seem to actually do anything to help/control it).

Since I've been here for the last couple months - I slip and slide all the time - it's worse than 2 wheel drive vehicles I've driven here! At first I thought it was the tires, but even then it just seems there's virtually no shifting of power away from the wheels that are spinning (it seems like it acts like a regular non-awd car). I've even got stuck a couple times (in a parking spot) and had to have my friend get out to push a bit. How embarrassing.