PDA

View Full Version : Regular Maintenance Questions

scoobaroo
01-09-2010, 03:33 PM
Hello!

I'm new to this forum and I was very happy to see an active Subaru discussion community!

My first car was a Subaru and I loved it so much that I recently purchased my second one used! It's the first car that's actually mine so I'm still learning the ropes as to what kind of TLC my Subie needs--my first car was the family clunker, a '95 Legacy wagon which ran with very little care until it was in a bad accident :( I want to treat my new baby right so that she lasts even longer (though 250,000 miles on the body and transmission is a tough record to beat!)

My father was a mechanic (which is why my first Subaru lasted so long, I'm sure!), but unfortunately the only thing I was able to learn from him was the value of taking good care of your vehicle. I've gotten 'advice' from some of the mechanics I've had do oil/tire changes who are reading off their cheat-sheet as to what a car needs at a certain mileage, but when I've inquired elsewhere I get the impression that I've misinterpreted the advice I've been given.

My baby is a 2004 Legacy sedan (35th Anniversary Edition), which I purchased in great physical condition with about 45,000 miles on it last spring. I drive about 100 highway miles a day for work, so I'm really trying to pay close attention to what she needs--she's at 64,500 miles right now! If anyone has a link to a site that has a good rundown of regular Subaru care, I'd really appreciate it. If you have some personal experience, I'll share the details for you below!