PDA

View Full Version : subaru wagon engine oil?

stu76
07-22-2009, 01:35 PM
hi chaps.

need some advice asap.
i am going to do a oil and filter change on my subaru shortly.my scooby has done 150,000 miles and going well.
i am not sure which engine oil to use as i have been told so many different lines, some say use 10w 40 semi syn ,others say use fully synthetic only, some say fully syn not really needed or warrented, please can anyone help me on this what engine oil to use, my subaru is a 97/98 year r reg.

thankyou to all.
stu

Bassman
09-12-2009, 01:00 AM
Hey Stu,

While I am not innately familiar with Subarus yet, I have a lot of experience with other vehicles. With as many miles as you indicate your "scooby" has accumulated, I'd be hesitant to switch completely to synthetic. Even the slightly thicker synthetics (10W - 30) will tend to have a thinner overall viscosity and may not offer the best protection if engine clearances (pistons to cylinder walls, crank journals / bearings etc.) have increased.

Stay with a good, known brand, multi-viscosity old unless you are certain that your engine and valve train clearances are minimal enough to support the use of the synthetic oil. Subaru recommends that one follow the service specifications regarding oil changes - - don't not exceed 7,500 miles in normal service between oil changes or more than 3,750 miles for rough service (e.g., lots of stop and go driving or operation in dirty conditions). This includes using synthetics.

ericams
12-01-2009, 02:21 AM